A100 members recognized for service, tech transactions and investments at Start Alberta Tech Awards

Share this post

CALGARY, Alberta (November 15, 2018) — A100 members Evan Hu, Bryan de Lottinville, David Edmonds and Brad Johns were in the spotlight at the inaugural Start Alberta Tech Awards on November 13, 2018, when they received awards in three of the eight main categories.

The awards were established to recognize both individuals and organizations for their contributions to Alberta’s innovation ecosystem and those making a significant impact on the province’s tech sector.

Evan Hu, Board Chair of Calgary Technologies Inc., was named the recipient of the Rod Charko Service Award, given to an individual who has gone above and beyond for the venture capital and technology ecosystems in Alberta.

An A100 member since 2011, Evan is an active leader and mentor in Alberta’s technology ecosystem supporting organizations such as Calgary Technologies Inc., Rainforest Alberta, Creative Destruction Lab, and many more.

Evan Hu, A100 Member from Startup Calgary on Vimeo.

Benevity CEO and Founder, Bryan de Lottinville (members since 2010) was given the award for the Most Significant Tech Transaction of the Year.

Benevity’s “goodness platform” empowers socially conscious brands to make a real difference, creating more than 250 new jobs in Alberta within the past 18 months.

Bryan de Lottinville, Founder & CEO of Benevity from Startup Calgary on Vimeo.

Representing the Accelerate Fund II, David Edmonds (member since 2010) and Brad Johns (member since 2011), along with partner, Nate Glubish, were presented with the Tech Investor of the Year Award, celebrating an individual or investment firm that has displayed the best investment acumen over the last year.

The Accelerate Fund II supports the growth of early-stage Alberta technology companies by providing an alternative source of financing to startups that are not yet venture capital ready. To date, six tech innovators have received investment from the Accelerate Fund II.

David Edmonds, Accelerate Fund II from Startup Calgary on Vimeo.

Congratulations to The A100 members who received well-deserved recognition at the Start Alberta Tech Awards, and to all the award winners from the evening.

Posted on November 15, 2018 by The A100.